What is this & who is Mr. Dolan?? The answer. Maybe.


On May 1st, I got an itch to play with SmartBASIC on my ADAM and found that the digital data pack was… altered.  As I explain last month, the DDP didn’t launch SmartBASIC.  It launched a custom-made program that required a password.

I wanted to know what was on that DDP so I used SmartWriter to access the files.  I eventually found the password after loading the files on SmartWriter.  The password was related to Star Trek, guess Mr. Dolan is a fan.  Former Coleco Software Engineer, Howard Eglowstein, thinks this is from a school, possibly Mr. Dolan is a teacher.  Makes sense to me. Once I got in, here’s what I saw:

WP_20160501_14_21_30_Pro

So I went through to each option and got the following:

<H>elp!

WP_20160501_14_21_43_Pro

<M>ail

WP_20160501_14_22_05_Pro

WP_20160501_14_22_38_Pro

WP_20160501_14_24_57_Pro

<B>oot

WP_20160501_14_32_50_Pro

<G>ame

This was a silly paragraph of text that really wasn’t even a game.  It was about Star Trek though.

<C>hat

WP_20160501_14_34_06_Pro

WP_20160501_14_34_30_Pro

Althought “M-DRAW” is not an option but is a program on the DDP, I decided to record a video of what it is.

About Coleco ADAM

I’m Justin M. Salvato, a fan and collector of vintage computers. This blog is dedicated to the very first computer I have ever owned: The Coleco ADAM. It is also my favorite. The goal of the blog is to provide information about the ADAM as well as the software and hardware that were created for this vintage computer system.
This entry was posted in vintage computer software, Vintage Computing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is this & who is Mr. Dolan?? The answer. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

