Jen and Dan had an ADAM too!


Jen and Dan using the ADAM computer circa 1983

Jen and Dan using the ADAM computer circa 1983

I am always scouring the internet looking for information, photos or just references to the Coleco ADAM computer.  Bing searches, Twitter look ups, Facebook groups…  These are just a few of my tools to find what I’m looking for.  Not long ago, I came across a blog that mentioned my beloved computer system.  I found The Jennifer Diaries.  Here’s is the author’s description: “…The Jennifer Diaries were discovered in a closet in April, 2009. The diaries document the coming of age of a suburban girl growing up in the United States. The Diaries offer a comprehensive view of Jennifer’s transformation from child to adult…”  The diaries are a fascinating read.  Not only do you get a look into a person growing from child to adult, you get to see pop culture references, of the time, in the diary entries.

In a few entries, Jennifer mentions the ADAM, which was a Christmas gift to her and her brother.  Like me, she has fond memories of that computer.  Unlike me, she has a great photo of her using the system.  Yes, the photo above.  If you would like to read that entry, please click: ADAM and the forbidden fruit.  Oh, and be sure to comment on that entry!

About Coleco ADAM

I’m Justin M. Salvato, a fan and collector of vintage computers. This blog is dedicated to the very first computer I have ever owned: The Coleco ADAM. It is also my favorite. The goal of the blog is to provide information about the ADAM as well as the software and hardware that were created for this vintage computer system.
This entry was posted in Vintage Computing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jen and Dan had an ADAM too!

  1. Thanks for posting Justin! No PC will ever have the personality of the ADAM! The computer sure made a lasting impression on me and my brother. Clearly the world was ready for the PC, but the ADAM wasn’t quite ready for the world. I miss that old computer (but WOW, look at my hair, I don’t miss that fro!)

Leave a Reply

