The reason I write about the Coleco ADAM computer..


Photo courtesy of oldcomputers.net

Photo courtesy of oldcomputers.net

I had a self-conversation a while ago as I laid down to go to sleep.  I’m admitting that I talk to myself, because I have a feeling I am not the only one (if I am, forget I mentioned it…).

I asked myself a question, “Why do you write a blog about an obsolete computer?”

“Good question”, I thought.  The ADAM was my first computer and like many firsts, you never forget them.

Reason 1 for the blog:  The ADAM was my first computer and I am fond of it.

Admittedly, that creates a bias, but I can back up the bias!  How?  With this blog.

Reason 2 for the blog: To show the Coleco ADAM’s strengths.

I am an information junkie.   If there is a topic I am interested in, I jump on my Windows Phone (if I am not near my laptop)   and Bing whatever it is I am trying to query.  In many cases, it is information about vintage computer systems, retro video games, or the ADAM.  I see much negativity thrown at my computer system.  The same system that I find great.  Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but most of these people who criticize the Coleco ADAM have never touched one.  They instead rely on what is already written.  Heck, many of them didn’t know anyone who owned one, because not many did.  So I write about the good software that was available for the ADAM and how the second wave of ADAMs were practically bug free.  Which gives us another reason for the blog..

Reason 3 for the blog: To reiterate Reason 2 as a means to counter the negativity.

I saved the most important reason for this blog for last…

Reason 4 for the blog: To preserve the legacy of the Coleco ADAM computer.

Leave a Reply

