How do you set-up your ADAM computer?


Many computers of the late 1970’s and early 1980’s consisted of a keyboard with the CPU and other major components built-in.  The Commodore Vic-20, 64, Atari 400, 800 & 800 XL, TI-99/4A, and the Apple II are just a few examples of this form factor.  The Coleco ADAM was basically the beginning of a trend that is still seen today; a console or tower with separate keyboard.  Usually you can set the monitor on top of the console, but that was not a good idea with the ADAM.

My most recent set-up.

My most recent set-up.

The top of the ADAM has a removable lid to access the tape drives and expansion slots.  As a result, the lid isn’t built to hold a classic television set or monitor (would bend the lid).  Remember, CRT tubes were pretty heavy.  So this was always an issue when setting up my ADAM.  Here are a few examples of how some others set up their ADAMs.

About Coleco ADAM

I’m Justin M. Salvato, a fan and collector of vintage computers. This blog is dedicated to the very first computer I have ever owned: The Coleco ADAM. It is also my favorite. The goal of the blog is to provide information about the ADAM as well as the software and hardware that were created for this vintage computer system.
This entry was posted in Vintage Computing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How do you set-up your ADAM computer?

  1. Michael Beck says:

    That’s my nerdy self in the picture of the kid playing an Atari game. Even to this day I think that was my best computer setup ever! 😀

    • Coleco ADAM says:

      wow, really? can you tell us more about that set-up?

      • Michael Beck says:

        Yep, that’s me! The picture was taken around 1989 or 1990.
        Forgive me for not remembering all of the specs behind the equipment, but here’s what I remember.

        I had the computer, and I had a 5.25″ disk drive, the add-on unit that let you play Atari/Coleco games (though it didn’t work very well and it was just easier to hook up my Atari 2600 as you see here.

        I had a daisywheel printer, which at the time I thought was the coolest thing. Changing fonts meant swapping out one daisywheel for another in the printer.

        That’s a Commodore VIC-20 on the desk to my right, and my Atari 2600 cartridge collection above that.

        Wish I had more details but that’s all I can remember, really.

Leave a Reply

