SmartBASIC animation: The Flying Walloons!


32 BASIC Programs for the Coleco ADAM by Tom Rugg & Phil Feldman

I was a kid when I was using the ADAM in the mid 1980s.  Although computer graphics were being used in movies like Tron and The Last Starfighter, I knew that home computers would  be powerful enough to do that sort of thing, eventually.  In the mean time, I would do my best to create my own BASIC programs with graphics.  More often than not, I would find a book on BASIC programming and copy their programs, entering line after line.  These were very long programs.

One such program came from the book “32 BASIC Programs for the Coleco ADAM”.  The program was called “The Flying Walloons” and when you ran the program, you were treated to 2 circus acrobats, doing what they do best.  I was blown away the first time I saw this.  Again, it was the mid 1980s…  Do you have any BASIC graphic programs you like to share?  Tell us about it in the comment section.

5 thoughts on “SmartBASIC animation: The Flying Walloons!

  1. Justin, that was funny!
    I started to do something like it in Logo once – just someone doing cartwheels – but I never got beyond that. Maybe I should get my act together and try to flesh it out a bit. And getting the acrobats up in the air and then back down again smoothly is something like my trying to get the sun to go around in a smooth arc in Journey. (You have seen Journey, right? 🙂 )

    Frances Clee

    • Hi Frances,
      The only downside to that animation is how the animation is done; drawing the acrobat, then erasing, then drawing again. Not the smoothest animation, but a good one for SmartBASIC. So what’s this Journey you wrote about? I haven’t seen it.

      Justin

      • I did an animation in SmartLogo for a Logo demonstration at an early AdamCon. It features a little train running through a landscape while the sun rises and sets and it gets dark. It’s called Journey. I showed it again at the last AdamCon, running on an ancient Adam. I need to move all my Adam stuff onto my laptop so I can run them in the Adam Emulator. If I ever get that done, it would be easy to send it to you. Btw, do you have SmartLogo? I think I have a crude video of it but it’s too late to deal with it tonight. I’ll try to remember to check later.

        Frances

  2. Justin, there is a video on YouTube of a session I did at AdamCon 22 on SmartLogo:

    It is fairly long, the sound is not very good, the colour on the screen ditto and I was not very well prepared, mostly because it got sprung on me at the last minute. However, it shows Journey near the beginning and later, 3 more of my SmartLogo animated programs (the one I actually like best is the Christmas tree – please note that the bows on the gift boxes are made with sprite shapes which are stamped in place). I also have a video made with my digital camera of the monitor screen while Journey was running. There is the hassle of the scan lines but the colour and detail are better.

    Journey was done for an early AdamCon to demonstrate what SmartLogo could do. Because the main program strained the memory capacity, I drew the background first (I used sprites to make the trees and houses and stamped them on the background) and saved it as a picture which was loaded first in Journey. The little train is 4 sprites in a row, the sun and moon, the stars, the cloud (2 sprites) and several trees are also sprites; I think there are about 15 sprites used altogether. I wanted the sun to rise and set behind the trees on the left and right, so there are tree-shaped sprites there for the sun to hide behind. SmartLogo has the ability to change a colour so I used that to change from day to night. The star-shaped sprites just sit there and are visible at night, invisible during the day. Oh yes, the train whistle is the one used at level crossings.

    The problem I alluded to in my first reply was that I wanted the sun to run smoothly in an arc from left to right but the sprites will only move continuously in a straight line so I had to settle for simply moving the sun from one position to another.

    Journey covers a lot of Logo’s capability but certainly not all. It has daemons, for instance, but I never found a use for them. It also has an OnTouch command which allows for certain kinds of games. Of course, it can handle text based programs too but I was, and am, mostly interested in graphics.

    SmartLogo is a very capable program. It is too bad that it was not made for a computer that could do it justice. I also have AmigaLogo on my Amiga 3000 but it only draws, there are no sprites or sound. I also have MSWLogo on my laptop; it can do a lot more than the others but still has no real sprite capability (it has sprites but they are very awkward to use). There is a new version of MSWLogo which I have yet to investigate and the company that made SmartLogo, Logo Computer Systems Inc. (LCSI) in Montreal, sells a very up-to-date Logo which I have contemplated buying, if I ever get around to it. Logo is still used in schools and there is an active online community.

    Frances

    • Do I use SmartLOGO?? LOL, of course, but I haven’t touched it in about 2 years. It is indeed a fun program, because, as you wrote, there are the sprite capabilities and music creation too. What is the maximum amount of sprites allowed? And you say that the ADAM is does not have enough power, hmm, does adding more RAM help at all?

      I do recall seeing this video before. It reminds me of how much fun and relaxing it is to create art and animation with SmartLOGO.

      What’s nice about the animations you created is that they could have been used as screensavers. I could have had the Christmas tree running all day. Love it!

Leave a Reply

