ADAM computer concept art, prototypes, and accessories


I am always curious to see the development of a tech device.  From concept to finished product.  One such product is Dell’s Windows Phone, the Venue Pro.  When I first saw the prototype, code-named “Lightning”, I was intrigued.  And of course, I wanted to get it.  Well, I don’t think I will ever get my hands on the prototype, but I do own the finished product.

The same goes for the Coleco ADAM computer.  I wasn’t aware of them at the time it was released, but these days I do try to find as much information as possible on the various prototypes.  Unfortunately, there isn’t much information available on the prototypes.  However, I did find that most of the hardware were non-working models.  Even so, I’d like to have them =)

According to ColecoVision.dk, a concept drawing of the ADAM exist.  Apparently, it is from July of 1982.   Check out the photo below.  It shows a keyboard attachment which plugs into the ColecoVision game console.  That was the approach that other game consoles makers were going with at the time.  Coleco obviously changed their mind.

ADAM concept drawing courtesy of ColecoVision.dk

Along with the concept art, there are also non-working hardware shown at the Consumer Electronics Show(s).  Using an online search engine will yield some results.

There was also a 3.25 inch disk drive that never made it to market:

Photo courtesy of old-computers.com

It’s a real shame that this didn’t get mass produced.  Would have been an add-on to the top of the Coleco ADAM memory console.  Which would have looked like this:

My system is very discolored…

If you know of any other prototypes, please drop me a comment below and share.  Thanks!

