Anyone still cover their computers anymore?


Look at these Coleco ADAM covers.  Plain & brown.  And hey, the ADAM logo is on there!

Look at these Coleco ADAM covers. Plain & brown. And hey, the ADAM logo is on there!

Back in the 1980’s, I used to cover my computer when it was not in use. I covered the Coleco ADAM, Atari 400, and IBM PS/1. I was doing this up until the early 1990s to prevent dust from getting into the system. If you were cool, you got covers specifically made for your system. In most of my computer covering days, I used a big garbage bag or piece of thin vinyl.

As the price of computers dropped, so did my fear of getting dust into the system.  These days I do not cover any of my PCs.  Do any of you still continue that practice?

About Coleco ADAM

I’m Justin M. Salvato, a fan and collector of vintage computers. This blog is dedicated to the very first computer I have ever owned: The Coleco ADAM. It is also my favorite. The goal of the blog is to provide information about the ADAM as well as the software and hardware that were created for this vintage computer system.
This entry was posted in Vintage Computing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Anyone still cover their computers anymore?

  1. Howard says:

    I have that same set, and another set of sewn beige vinyl with the logos in brown ink. Neither of the sets I have were available as disk drive covers as well. I guess the aftermarket companies gave up on the machine pretty quickly…

    • Coleco ADAM says:

      I never even thought of disk drive covers! Do you know if Coleco made these covers?

      • Howard says:

        Coleco never made any that I know of. The brown ones were definitely made by one of the leading cover manufacturers of the day (I can’t recall their name) and the beige vinyl ones were some other outfit.

  2. Bob Slopsema says:

    Justin, have a disk drive cover to match the other dark brown ones and assume that they are coleco made. Also, the “dust covers” are even more important to keep the sunlight or any uv light off of the ADAM components …… ever seen the discolored keyboards and cpu’s? Sunlight or uv light……

Leave a Reply

